bible study · catholic · faith · from my war room · lent · Love Letters to God · novena · prayer · rosary · saint · scripture · teens

Things I am Giving & Taking Up for Lent.

Okay, this is the official stuff I am giving and taking up for lent. I have finally made up my mind about it!!

I’m giving up:

  • Insulting myself and others
  • Buying New Things
  • All non-christian books
  • TV
  • Gossip
  • Secular music

 

I’m taking up:

  • waking up at 5:30 am to:
    • Pray the rosary everyday
    • Read the Bible everyday
  • Living a life like St. Bernadette and St. Philomena
  • Writing poems and songs to God each day
  • Reading about the Saints everyday
  • Doing back to back novenas

What are you doing for Lent?

8 thoughts on “Things I am Giving & Taking Up for Lent.

    1. I am! 😀 I am giving these things up for lent, as well as picking some up because Lent is a time of fasting, reflecting on our lives, giving, and praying. It lasts 40 days, as that was the amount of time Jesus fasted when he was tempted by the devil in Luke 4. We fast not only to mimic our lord, but also to mimic the Apostles of Jesus who fasted after his death, before Pentecost. We give as Jesus did when He was alive, symbolically taking up Jesus’ role in the world, while He takes up residence in Heaven and in our hearts. There are a few special days we celebrate, like Ash Wednesday to remind us of our mortality, and Good Friday, which represents the day Jesus died. Every Friday we fast from meat, and through out the Lenten season, we abstain from certain things, which is what we give up 🙂 It’s really awesome if you’re looking to shift your focus back onto God, and relearn about Jesus’ death and love for us. I celebrated it even when I wasn’t Catholic, just because I really enjoyed it. Feel free to ask me any more questions you have! 🙂

      Like

  1. How old can the tv be to get reception with the converter box. My mom and dad both have old tvs and I am having trouble getting a signal for channels that they were once able to receive. Do you have any susgogtiens on how I can correct the problem for them without them having to get new tvs? Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

